What has shaped the artist in me

My short answer is: the time I dedicate to my artistry, the passion I put in what I do, a deep listening, an entire life of artistic skills I have stored in my subconscious, and the courage, even in the difficult moments, to believe in creativity as a path of growth, discovery, and evolution. 

I need to acknowledge the fact that I am very lucky to have been among art and artists since a was a child. My father was a painter, a sculptor, a craftsman, and a music lover. I learned a lot just watching him, and I’m still learning from his genes! I feel blessed for my natural gifts, and the richness of growing up in a powerful and so multicultural island as Sicily is, in the center of the Mediterranean sea.

I feel lucky to have jammed since I was 12 with all sorts of musical instruments and musicians, to have grown up with artist friends from all disciplines spending nights listening to music, having conversations about art, or commenting the new paintings that Franco Condorelli was working on, while he was making yummy garlic pickles in the kitchen.

I feel thankful to have watched the reality trough my Yashica FX3 and to have made slides to project in big walls or during my concerts, to have had my first vision and to have directed the interdisciplinary performance ‘Apologia della Gioia’ at the age of 21, to have met Massimo Finzi and become his assistant, printing black&white photos (of course I went out of the conventional and I started to print black&white scratchy slides that later were called Laugrafia).

I am grateful to that first woman who asked me to teach her my way of playing percussion, and the numerous students I have had since then. Teaching has been and is a powerful tool for learning! I am eternally grateful to Maestro Antonio Buonomo, who showed me the path to the classical percussion instruments, and to Gianluca Ruggeri, with who I studied at the Classical Conservatory of L’Aquila (those years were the ones that helped me to shape my own musical personality).

I am grateful to all the various dance and theatrical productions I have been involved in, and to the directors who gave me the trust to write the music for their movies and documentaries. And, last but not least, to Paolo Buonvino, with who I had the honor to work for more than two years, and from whom I learned how to deal with big movie productions. Those were the years where I had the chance to see famous directors making movies, assist in the creation of music score for the big screen, learn to deal with big orchestras in a studio recording set, and work with the best sound engineers. But most of all, I learned to be humble!

Founding Samavesha and living in the Bay Area in SF with its abundant multicultural influences and artists, and in the same time, sharing my artistic and European culture with the community is what is still shaping the artist in me.

And… Listening to my vision as if it were an angelic chant. Refining every part of my life as if it were a sculpture. Living the emotions as if they were a painting of infinite colors. Exploring all the characters of my personality in the stage of life. Writing the history I would love to read. Breathing every moment as if it were the last one…

Laugrafia 1997 – plain dark slides etched by hand using a knife.

2 responses to “What has shaped the artist in me

  1. Pingback: Passing on the artistic gene | J. Keller Ford ~ YA Fantasy Author·

    • Thank you J to have posted your blog’s link, but I would love you to add something about what has been shaped the artist in you, more than the talented people around you. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

